Go Back To The Big Map

Marion County Fire Departments

While Marion County and the City of Indianapolis are often considered synonymous, the county's fire departments are not. There are various government plans at work to try and merge the eight county fire departments. A county-wide merger failed to pass the state legislature in both 2006 and 2007. However, on January 1st, 2007 Washington Township (5th largest in the state) became the first to merge independently with IFD. Warren Township followed in July 2007, creating a total of 35 IFD Stations. Perry Township will merge August 1, 2009 growing the number to 39 Stations.


Beech Grove


Decatur Township

Franklin Township (now IFD)


Indianapolis EMS

Ivy Tech


Lawrence Twp (now IFD)

Perry Township (Now IFD)

Pike Township

Rocky Ripple


Warren Township (Now IFD)

Washington Twp (Now IFD)

Wayne Township